Simon Cowell Helms Dick Clark Emmy Tribute

LOS ANGELES (August 17, 2006) — Charlie Sheen, Martin Sheen, Candice Bergen, Ray Liotta, Simon Cowell, Jeffrey Tambor, John Lithgow and Bob Newhart have been confirmed as presenters for the 58th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards. This will be the first time that the Sheens will present together at the Emmy Awards.

Father and son nominees, Charlie and Martin, will present together.

And Simon Cowell will be at the helm of the telecast’s special tribute to Dick Clark!

The show, hosted by Conan O?Brien, will broadcast live from Los Angeles? historic Shrine Auditorium, Sunday, August 27 on NBC.

NBC will kick off television?s biggest night with the ?2006 Emmy® Red Carpet Special,? a live one-hour event hosted by Access Hollywood?s Billy Bush and Nancy O?Dell on Sunday, August 27.

Charlie Sheen received his first Emmy Award nomination this year for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series for his portrayal of ?Charlie Harper? on the CBS Emmy Award nominated series ?Two and a Half Men.?

He has also received a SAG Award nomination as well as two Golden Globe Award nominations for this role. For his lead role on ABC’s ?Spin City,? Sheen won a Golden Globe.

He has appeared in over 40 feature films including: ?Platoon,? ?Wall Street,? ?The Big Bounce,? ?Scary Movie 3,? Scary Movie 4,? ?Young Guns,? ? Men at Work,? ?Major League,? and ?Hot Shots!? He also won a SAG nomination for his work in ?Being John Malkovich.? Sheen has written and produced several films including ?No Code of Conduct,? in which he starred alongside his father, Martin Sheen.

Martin Sheen won an Emmy Award for Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series in 1994 for his portrayal of ?Nick Brody? on the hit series ?Murphy Brown.?

He has garnered a total of eight Emmy Award nominations.

This year, he is nominated for the fourth time in the category of Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series for his role as ?President Bartlet? on NBC?s ?The West Wing.? He is also nominated for an Emmy Award this year in the Outstanding Guest Actor in a Comedy Series category for his appearance on ?Two and a Half Men.?

For ten years, Candice Bergen starred in the critically acclaimed CBS comedy ?Murphy Brown,? for which she received five Emmy Awards and two Golden Globe Awards.

Her current role of ?Shirley Schmidt? on ABC?s hit ?Boston Legal? garnered her a Golden Globe Award, a Screen Actors Guild Award and an Emmy nomination for Best Supporting Actress.

Her other television credits include three TV movies for CBS, an ABC mini-series, ?Hollywood Wives,? and her own show on the Oxygen Network, ?Candice Checks It Out.? Before this, she also hosted a nightly talk show on the Oxygen Network entitled, ?Exhale.? For her role in the film ?Starting Over,? Bergen received a Best Supporting Actress Oscar nomination. Ray Liotta received an Emmy Award in 2005 for Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series for his performance on NBC?s ?ER.?

He was nominated for a Golden Globe in Jonathan Demme?s ?Something Wild? and his portrayal of Frank Sinatra in HBO?s ?The Rat Pack? garnered him a Screen Actors Guild Award nomination.

But Liotta earned his most widespread acclaim as ?Henry Hill? in Martin Scorcese?s Academy Award nominated ?Goodfellas.?

His other film credits include ?Corrina, Corrina,? ?Field of Dreams,” Heartbreakers,? ? Hannibal,? ? Unlawful Entry,? ?No Escape,? ?Blow,? ?John Q,? ?Copland,? ?Identity,? ?Control,? and ?Revolver.?

Liotta is currently shooting the CBS Television drama ?Smith? set to debut September 19.

Best known as the most brutally honest of the three judges on ?American Idol,? Simon Cowell achieved celebrity status on the UK version of ?American Idol,? ?Pop Idol.?

His UK-based production company, SYCO, produces the BAFTA Award-winning ?The X Factor,? which is also the No. 1 entertainment show in the UK. Cowell created and served as executive producer on “American Inventor,” ?America?s Got Talent? and FOX?s ?Celebrity Duets.?

This year, Cowell was ranked No. 29 on Forbes Magazine?s ?Celebrity 100 Power List.? Additionally, he is an executive with SonyBMG Records and has helped to shape the modern pop music industry. Cowell?s most recent discovery is the pop-opera quartet Il Divo, whose first two albums have sold over 11 million copies around the world.

Jeffrey Tambor starred for six years on HBO?s award-winning hit series, ?The Larry Sanders Show,? for which he was nominated four times for an Emmy Award. Tambor went on to co-star in FOX?s critically acclaimed and Emmy Award winning ?Arrested Development,? where he received two Emmy nominations for Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy for his portrayal of patriarch ?George Bluth Sr.?

The show was also nominated for two Golden Globes for Best Comedy.

Tambor?s other television credits include: ?Hill Street Blues,? ? LA Law,? ?American Dreamer,? ?Studio 5B,? and ?Max Headroom.?John Lithgow has been nominated for 10 Emmy awards and was the recipient of three Emmy Awards, one Golden Globe Award, an American Comedy Award and two Screen Actors Guild Awards for his starring role in NBC?s hit comedy series, ?Third Rock from the Sun.?

He has earned ten Emmy nominations over the years for his work, and is recognized for his film credits, including: ?Shrek? (voice of Lord Farquaad), ?The Pelican Brief,? ?The World According to Garp,? for which he received his first Academy Award nomination; and ?Terms of Endearment,? which garnered him his second Academy Award nomination.

Most recently, Lithgow starred in ?Kinsey? and HBO?s ?The Life and Death of Peter Sellers.? This fall, he will star as ?John Mason? on NBC?s new comedy,? Twenty Good Years.”

Bob Newhart has garnered five Emmy Award nominations, one for Outstanding Writing Achievement in Comedy for ?The Bob Newhart Show;? three for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series for ?Newhart,? and an Outstanding Guest Actor in a Drama Series nomination most recently for his appearance on ?ER.? Newhart received a Golden Globe Award in 1962 for Best TV Star and was nominated a total of six other times.

He is the recipient of the Peabody Award for his work on the ?Bob Newhart Variety Show? (1972-78) and ?Newhart? (1982-1990). ?The Bob Newhart Show? received TV Land?s most prestigious ?Icon Award.?

Newhart recently made an appearance on ABC?s ?Desperate Housewives,? and was featured on TNT?s original adventure drama ?The Librarian: Quest ForThe Spear.?

Some of his film credits include: ?On A Clear Day You Can See Forever,? ?Catch 22,? ?Legally Blonde 2,? and ?Elf.? He was inducted into the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Hall of Fame in 1996.

Previously announced presenters include: Stephen Colbert, Patrick Dempsey, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Edie Falco, Tina Fey, James Gandolfini, Dennis Haysbert, Jason Lee, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Felicity Huffman, Heidi Klum, Hugh Laurie, Evangeline Lilly, Eva Longoria, Wentworth Miller, Helen Mirren, Matthew Perry, William Petersen, Jamie Pressley, Ellen Pompeo, Jon Stewart, Kiefer Sutherland, Bradley Whitford.

Copyright ©
2018 by All Rights Reserved.
This material may not be republished, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Related news

Latest News